One of the top honours an NBA player can achieve is to be named the league’s NBA MVP award. The Most Valuable Player award is given to one player at the conclusion of each season (usually in April/May).

There are numerous disagreements and issues about what makes a most valuable player, despite the fact that they have been well covered in the media. What factors do you consider most important when deciding who should be named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player? Read the article to know!

How does the Panel Decide the Winner of the NBA MVP?

The NBA Most Valuable Player award has been decided by a committee of journalists and sportswriters since the 1980 season. The addition of the Toronto Raptors in the league makes this valid for the whole United States and Canada. There will be five total votes cast, one each for the panellists’ top choice and their next four or five choices. Each position in the top five earns the player a different number of points, with first place being worth 10 points, second place for 7, third place for 5, fourth for 3, and fifth place for 1. A final count of votes determines the winner.

Important Factors to Consider

We have collated statistics from the previous 20 winners of the NBA MVP Award (with Magic in 1990 through LeBron in 2009) to find out what it requires to win. Okay, let’s examine this in further detail.

Increased Chances for the Winners

It’s not about scores, it’s about victories, and yet that’s what everyone wants to focus on when choosing an NBA MVP. There is no use in playing basketball if the team isn’t winning the game since that is an important measure of success.

Neither Dwyane Wade nor Kobe Bryant deserved to win the award in 2006 nor did they have a shot at doing so due to their teams’ lack of success.

Best Records of Players Matters

Having the greatest mark in the NBA is the best method to guarantee yourself a championship, but leading your conference and/or division will get you far as well.

The last 20 champions have all claimed their division, 17 have won their conference, and 12 have had the greatest regular season record in NBA history. Seven of the twenty went on to become champions, with Michael Jordan responsible for four of those victories but not factoring into the vote.

Favor of Voters Towards Short Players

The controversy surrounding Nash’s two wins is understandable, and there is an explanation for it. People who are short in height tend to do well in the votes of NBA MVP.

Since Bob Cousy was the second NBA MVP in 1957, Iverson and Nash are the league’s two shortest MVP winners. Although Nash’s production was the smallest of any starter, it must be taken into account since Iverson lost 11 matches (13.4 per cent) that season. Voters showed their support for both of them.

Criticism of the NBA MVP Voting Process

The NBA’s voting system has become increasingly controversial throughout the years. The lack of interest among voters is a major problem. Current polling has been a major concern among both fans and athletes. Voters now care more about a player’s compelling backstory than about whether or not they have the strongest statistical résumé. Some voters may become tired of giving the award to the same player year after year, even if that player remains at the top of the league.

End Note

When discussing possible NBA MVP awaards, it is important to focus on those from teams with a winning percentage of at least 65% and those who might potentially lead their team to a division title (preferably 70 per cent). In such case, you may begin to discuss reasonably a potential winner for the historically important trophy and award.